UCGIS Summer School 2017

Collaborative Problem Solving with CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

In May 2017, the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science (UCGIS) will launch its first Summer School for graduate students and early-career scholars around the theme of Collaborative Problem Solving with CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science. Participants will develop novel solutions to a set of motivating and significant scientific problems as they learn about cutting-edge scientific advances and technical capabilities of cyberGIS (e.g. ROGER, http://go.illinois.edu/ROGER). These problems focus on three general interdisciplinary areas: emergency management; smart and connected communities; and the nexus of food, energy and water systems. The Summer School is designed to provide professional interactions that are key to addressing complex geospatial problems and related big data challenges. This event is hosted by the CyberGIS Center for Advanced and Digital Studies and the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Participants will also prepare their reports and present their posters at the subsequent UCGIS Symposium 2017 in Arlington, Virginia.

The schedule of Summer School activities can be found on the CyberGIS Center website

We are pleased to announce the following participants in this inaugural year. Each of those with asterisks will be receiving about $2000 of travel award funding, generously supported by the National Science Foundation, to attend both the Summer School and Symposium.

Anna Petrasova, North Carolina State University* Mehdi Heris, University of Colorado at Boulder*
Bryan C. Runck, University of Minnesota* Nicholas Robison, University of Washington*
Christopher Franklin, University of Texas Dallas* Nicole Helgeson, University of Minnesota*
Chunyuan Diao, State University of New York at Buffalo* Patricia Carbajales-Dale, Clemson University*
Chunzhu Wei, University of Salzburg* Pranab K. Roy Chowdhury, University of Tennessee, Knoxville*
Dinuke Munasinghe, University of Alabama* Ruopu Li, Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
Dorris Scott, University of Georgia* Shakil Bin Kashem, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign*
Dylan Perkins, University of Wyoming* Shaun Fontanella, the Ohio State University*
Haowen Xu, University of Iowa* Te-Yao Lee, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Heng Cai, Louisiana State University* Tianqi Zou, Cornell University*
Irene Garousi-Nejad, Utah State University* Vaclav Petras, North Carolina State University*
Jason Matney, North Carolina State University* Volodymyr Mihunov, Louisiana State University*
Jayakrishnan Ajayakumar, Kent State University* Weixing Zhang, University of Connecticut*
Jessica D. Hedgepeth Balkin, University of Colorado Boulder* Xiao Li, Texas A&M University*
Jim Coll, University of Kansas* Yi Qi, Brown University
Josphat Mutunga, University of Redlands* Yiqun Xie, University of Minnesota*
Lee A. Hathcock, Mississippi State University  Zhenlong Li, University of South Carolina*
 Maya Patrice Scott, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign  Ziqi Liu, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


Questions about the Summer School can be directed to Ms. Laura Martin ([email protected]), and questions about the Symposium can be directed to Dr. Diana Sinton ([email protected]).